The Lithuanian state is an independent, democratic republic. According to the Lithuanian constitution, the state is created by the nation; sovereignty belongs to the nation.

The Lithuanian Seimas, or Parliament, is elected by secret ballot every four years and consists of 141 deputies who are charged with creating the country’s laws. The current Speaker of the Seimas is Viktorija Čmilytė-Nielsen.

The Government of the Republic of Lithuania and its Cabinet of Ministers are responsible for implementing the country’s laws. The current head of the government is Prime Minister Ingrida Šimonytė.

The President of the Republic of Lithuania is elected in general elections every five years. Gitanas Nausėda was elected the next president of the Republic of Lithuania on May 26, 2019. The President decides basic issues of foreign policy and, together with the Seimas, conducts foreign policy.

Questions of major importance to the Lithuanian state and nation are decided by general referendum.

Key dates and facts:

1990               Restoration of the independence of the Republic of Lithuania

2004              Lithuania becomes a member of NATO and the European Union

2013               Lithuania for the first time chairs the European Union Council

2014–15        Lithuania is a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council


Lithuania is in 28th place in the World Press Freedom Index/RFS


Photo credits: Real is beautiful Stock