Back 2020.06.16

Lithuania is still closed for arrivals from Portugal, UK and Sweden

From 15 to 21 June, due to high incidence of COVID-19 (coronavirus infection) Lithuania will prevent arrivals from Portugal, UK and Sweden. Foreigners arriving from Belgium will be required to stay in isolation for 14 days. Lithuanian citizens can return to the country from all the countries but those arriving from the above-mentioned countries will fall subject to 14-day isolation.

The Ministry of Health reminds us that in the case where the incidence of COVID-19 (coronavirus infection) in a foreign country has been from 15 to 25 cases per 100 000 population in the last 14 days, there will be no restrictions for entry to Lithuania from such countries, but the visitors will be required to self-isolate for 14 days. If the incidence rate does not exceed 15 cases per 100 000 population, there will be neither restrictions on the entry to Lithuania nor requirements for mandatory self-isolation.

Lithuanian citizens can return from any country, but they will fall subject to 14-day self-isolation in the case where that country has had coronavirus incidence rate of above 15 cases per 100 000 population in 14 days.

Self-isolation requirement for foreign arrivals depends on the original point of travelling. This means that if people have proof that they are travelling from a country from which isolation on return or arrival is not required, they do not need to self-isolate even if they have travelled through other countries. But only if they did not stop over in those countries for business or other purposes. Failing to have such proof, travellers will fall subject to requirements applicable for the last visited country, from which they have directory come to Lithuania.

It should be remembered that those arriving by ferry from Sweden must keep vigilance. Due to the increased incidence in this country, they will fall subject to 14-days isolation in Lithuania, even if they travelled to the ferry in Sweden in transit from Norway or Denmark.

The Ministry notes that the list of safe countries is subject to regular adjustments and invites travellers to follow the updates.

It is also important to mention that safe country for Lithuania may not necessarily regard Lithuania as such – travellers must check with the countries of their desired destination, as there is no common agreement between all the countries of the European Economic Area. The three Baltic countries – Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia – will continue to stay open for each other.

This new regime applies to foreigners from the European Economic Area, Switzerland, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Decisions on the entry of foreigners from third countries have not yet been taken.

Overall 14-day incidence rate: the number of new COVID-19 (coronavirus infection) cases per 100 000 population in 14 days.

Lithuania’s overall 14-day incidence rate is 3.5 cases per 100 000 population.

 No Country Overall 14-day incidence rate per 100 000 population (data as of 12-06-2020) Citizens of the countries of the European Economic Area, the Swiss Confederation and of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and persons lawfully residing in these countries Citizens of the Republic of Lithuania
1. Kingdom of Sweden 124.4 No entry Mandatory 14 days’ isolation
2. Portuguese Republic 42.3
3. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 32.8
4. Kingdom of Belgium 16.1 Free entry, mandatory 14 days’ isolation
5. Republic of Poland 14.2 Free entry, no isolation required no isolation required
6. Kingdom of the Netherlands 13.4
7. Romania 12.4
8. French Republic 11.1
9. Kingdom of Denmark 9.0
10. Kingdom of Spain 8.9
11. Republic of Estonia 8.6
12. Republic of Bulgaria 8.6
13. Ireland 8.0
14. Italian Republic 7.3
15. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg 7.0
16. Czech Republic 7.0
17. Federal Republic of Germany 6.2
18. Republic of Finland 5.8
19. Republic of Malta 5.4
20. Republic of Austria 4.7
21. Kingdom of Norway 3.6
22. Swiss Confederation 2.9
23. Republic of Cyprus 2.8
24. Hungary 2.0
25. Hellenic Republic 1.7
26. Republic of Latvia 1.7
27. Republic of Slovenia 0.7
28. Republic of Iceland 0.6
29. Slovak Republic 0.4
30. Republic of Croatia 0.1
31. Principality of Liechtenstein 0.0